In News
ACDE animation on the role of ATAR in teacher selection

The ACDE has a range of informative videos on the subject of student selection into teacher education programs available through their website. NSWCDE supports ACDE and the TEMAG view that teachers need a range of traits and skills, some of which cannot be determined through ATAR and academic scores alone.


Head or Heart…what makes a good teacher

Published in The Australian, August 29, 2015, link courtesy of the ACDE.


This press release announces the new office bearers at the New South Wales Council of Deans of Education for 2016-2018.

Professor Michele Simons, Dean of Education, Western Sydney University, has been elected to serve as President of NSWCDE, taking over from Professor Chris Davison from UNSW, who has completed her two year term as President; NSWCDE thanks Chris for her clearheaded leadership and strong direction in times of great change in the sector.

Professor John Fischetti, Head of School of Education, University of Newcastle, has been elected as the new Vice-President. NSWCDE thanks Professor Ian Brown (University of Wollongong) for his dedicated service to this position over the last two years.

Associate Professor Elizabeth Labone, Head of Education, Australian Catholic University, has been elected as Secretary to NSWCDE. Professor Marguerite Maher, Dean of Education, University of Notre Dame, leaves this position having served her two year term with distinction.

Professor Lindsay Parry, Head of School, Charles Sturt University, has been re-elected as Treasurer.

Professor Chris Davison (UNSW) replaces Professor Peter Aubusson (UTS) as Immediate Past– President and Chair of the BOSTES Initial Teacher Education Committee. NSWCDE commends Professor Aubusson, who in his various roles over the last 6 years has done so much to enhance initial teacher education in New South Wales.

All office bearers have been elected for two year terms, to be completed in August 2018.

Under the new executive NSWCDE will continue in its commitment to work with partners in the sector, to strengthen the quality of initial and continuing teacher education.

Note: The New South Wales Council of Deans of Education is the state peak association of the Deans and Heads of Schools of Education in universities and other higher education institutions in New South Wales.

For more information please contact the NSWCDE Secretary, Associate Professor Elizabeth Labone,; +61 2 9701 4130. For any urgent matters, please contact the NSWCDE President, Professor Michele Simons,

PDF Download

Start typing and press Enter to search